Look forward to every feedback? Is that possible?

Rob Read
2 min readMar 15, 2021

--

Photo by Jason Rosewell on Unsplash

I recently spent some time reflecting on the phenomenon of feedback.

Previously I had understood that feedback is a ‘good thing’, that it is even a great idea to seek it out! As many of us believe, feedback is a valuable resource that provides an opportunity for reflection and growth!

Though it doesn’t always feel that way!

For me it is often a hit-and-miss experience both when giving and receiving feedback. It seems to hinge subjectively on how I feel at the time and my relationship with the other person. For example, when receiving feedback if I’m feeling positive, I can take it, I’m receptive, and I am more likely to learn from it. If I’m feeling negative, I may feel bruised, or resentful towards the person, or in denial about what I hear. This can get in the way of the opportunity to reflect and learn from the feedback.

When our response to feedback is so subjective, how can we truly look forward to every feedback?

Recently I learnt about Radical Candor, and it offers hope.

Radical Candor believes we can “challenge directly” while “caring personally”. This provides a framework that makes the giving and receiving of feedback less subjective, more objective. More intentional. More humane.

In my experience, and based on for instance the Scrum Values, it is expected and accepted that an Agile team operates in an environment of Openness and Respect, and that this takes Courage. I have witnessed this lead to great openness and honesty. I have also observed that at times the participant’s efforts to avoid emotional hurt to the recipient may lead to less impactful feedback.

I believe that Radical Candor has the potential to resolve this challenge by providing an objective framework that honours the Scrum Values of Openness and Respect and builds on them to enable feedback of a higher quality and value, with less emotional discomfort — for both parties!

Again, in that spirit of openness and respect, as Agile leaders we must take our teams on a journey of shared understanding and inclusivity. To this end I would suggest following these steps.

  1. Introduce the team to Radical Candor
  2. Invite them to experiment with its use
  3. Facilitate the amendment of their team Working Agreement to reflect its adoption

Have you used Radical Candor with your teams?

What has your experience with Radical Candor been?

Resources on Radical Candor

What is Radical Candor: https://www.radicalcandor.com/our-approach/

Podcast Episode 1: What is Radical Candor? https://www.radicalcandor.com/podcast/podcast-episode-1/

6 Tips to Giving Helpful Feedback: https://www.radicalcandor.com/6-tips-helpful-feedback/

--

--